Law

Oklahoma Gun Crimes Law: Everything You Need To Know About

 

In comparison to other states, Oklahoma allows residents to bear arms. Oklahoma gun laws allow people to carry both concealed carry and open carry firearms.

According to the self-defence laws in the state, a person can use lethal force against an intruder. Even designated school staff is allowed to carry guns in schools. If you are a licensed gun holder in Oklahoma, you can even carry it to the school grounds. Just make sure that you keep them safely in a locked vehicle.

Oklahoma gun laws might be more relaxed than in other states. But this doesn’t imply that the state will go without gun laws in future. There are gun laws regarding what type of firearms are allowed, who can own a gun, what type of guns are legal to own and how and where those guns may be used or carried.

Unfortunately, the gun crime rates have increased all across the country, including in the state of Oklahoma. Some of those crimes are serious and can get you a lengthy sentence in prison. If you are wrongly accused in a gun crime case, you should seek help from the best Oklahoma gun crimes lawyer.

Types of Gun Crimes

Citizens have the right to possesses bear arms. The same is stated in the second amendment. But this right is not absolute as the possessions of arms are heavily regulated by the government. For example, if you are a resident of Massachusetts, you will need a Firearm Identification Card to own a gun. In addition, you also have to follow several rules and restrictions.

Even if you have the license to bear an arm you are not allowed to carry it everywhere in public. If you fail to follow these restrictions, you will have to face charges for unlawfully carrying firearms. The most common situations when you are faced with this charge are:

  • Owning a gun without a license.
  • Carrying a firearm in a prohibited place or area.
  • Possession of a sawed-off shotgun and machine gun.

If you are found in any of these situations you will be put in correction home for as long as 18 months. In some cases, you may get a five year jail time.

Firearm Possession and Permits in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, it is not always necessary to have a license or permit to carry a firearm. You don’t need a permit to open carry a rifle, pistol, and shotgun used for legitimate purposes such as competition, hunting, or practice. Other legitimate activities include educational activities and sporting events.

However, to carry a concealed firearm for self-defence, you are required to have a concealed carry permit and handgun permit. You can apply for a permit through the OSBI.

To apply for a handgun license, you need to be a citizen of the United States and 21 years of age. You must also complete a firearm safety and training course and comply with the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defence Act.

Even if you meet all the above criteria, you may not be allowed to own a gun. Some individuals are prohibited to possess a firearm by both federal and state laws. You cannot own a gun in the state of Oklahoma if you fall in the following categories:

  • You are not mentally stable.
  • You have a criminal record.
  • You provided false information on a handgun license.
  • You are charged with battery and assault.
  • You have attempted to commit suicide.
  • You are currently treated for a mental illness.
  • You are a habitual criminal offender.
  • You are subjected to a felony warrant.
  • You failed to surrender a handgun license or pay a fine.

Prohibited Places

Even if have a gun permit in Oklahoma, you are not allowed to carry a gun everywhere. Certain places prohibit the possession of firearms.

  • Any place or building where liquor is sold or consumed
  • Inside a government building or meeting
  • Detention center, jail, or prison
  • Schools, colleges, universities, or vocational-technical center
  • Casinos or other places of betting
  • Sporting events

Additionally, you are not allowed to carry guns when you are not sober. If you get caught carrying guns while under the influence of alcohol, you will be charged.

Before you think of owning a gun or firearm in the state of Oklahoma, you should educate yourself about the existing firearm laws. You must know when and where you are allowed to own a firearm. This is important so that you don’t get into trouble.

However, if you are charged with unlawfully carrying firearms or for a gun crime, you should consider hiring a gun crime lawyer. In such a situation, you will need the help of a professional. They can guide you and tell you about your rights. But most importantly, they will do everything to get you out of that situation you are in.

Show More
Close