NEW RELEASE: The Great Ken Boothe Meets The Legendary BB Seaton Vol. 2

1971 saw the release of The Great Ken Boothe Meets BB Seaton & The Gaylads where Harris “BB” Seaton provided lead guitar with the other members of The Gaylads on backing vocals while Ken Boothe mostly sang lead. The backing tracks were provided by The Now Generation. What a powerhouse band!

There was a volume 2 produced years later but while the first one featured only Ken Boothe tunes Volume 2 was split evenly between both main artists Boothe and Seaton. Well 40 years after the first issue of Volume 1, Volume 2 gets a CD/LP re-issue courtesy of the Soul Beat Records – home of Seaton. did a review where they had this to say about the album’s tunes:

The excellent “Who Really Cares” and the great “Love Come Tumbling Down”, previously appeared on the 197x released compilation LP “Culture Train”. One of Ken Boothe best recordings from the early 1970’s, “Blessed Is The Man”, was given to Beverley’s Records to distribute. Also the beautiful song “Halleluyah” comes from that same period and so does the wonderful “The Morning Sun”, while the fine lovers piece “Lucky Me”, with backing from Sly & The Revolutionaries, probably has been recorded somewhere in the second half of the 1970s. Also worth hearing is the powerful “I&I&I” from 1971, which is underpinned by a mind-blowing, dubbed up riddim track.

The BB Seaton tracks included here, also appeared on his 2007 released, highly recommended double cd “After All This Time ~ The Anthology 1972-1989”. Although, just like Ken Boothe, probably best known for his lovers tunes, the soulful voice of BB Seaton has also graced quite a number of sublime roots songs. A few of them are presented here including “I Feel Lost” (produced by Bunny Lee and BB Seaton in 1975), “After All This Time”, “Forgive Them Lord”, “Freedom Fighters”, and “Brothers Beware”. But in the end there’s also a lovers tune, “Thinking About You”, to round off BB Seaton part of the album.

“The Great Ken Boothe Meets The Legendary BB Seaton Vol. 2” is a very fine album, which surely will delight any fan of good vintage music.

Check out the tracklisting below:
1. Ken Boothe – Who Really Cares
2. BB Seaton – I Feel Lost
3. Ken Boothe – Blessed Is The Man
4. BB Seaton – After All This Time
5. Ken Boothe – Love Come Tumbling Down
6. BB Seaton – One Thing Leads To Another
7. Ken Boothe – I&I&I
8. BB Seaton – Forgive Them Lord
9. Ken Boothe – Halleluyah
10. BB Seaton – Freedom Fighters
11. Ken Boothe – Lucky Me
12. BB Seaton – Brothers Beware
13. Ken Boothe – The Morning Sun
14. BB Seaton – Thinking About You

Available on CD/LP format at various online retailers as well as digital on iTunes.

I've been involved in the Los Angeles music scene since at least 1995 going to shows, promoting, spinning records and running labels. Ska and Early Reggae are my passion among other things of course.