John Holt’s “1,000 Volts Of Holt” gets 2CD Expanded Edition

1,000 Volts Of HoltThe “eagerly” (as it has been issued more then a few times already) anticipated 2CD deluxe edition of John Holt’s classic rocksteady & early roots collection “1,000 Volts Of Holt” has been released via Trojan Records.

John Holt got his start singing in The Paragons. Now I love the Paragons as they are one of my all-time favorite vocal groups with hits including “Island In The Sun”, “Riding High On A Windy Day” (makes me shiver), “The Tide Is High”, “Happy Go Lucky Girl”, “Wear You To The Ball” and many many others. Such sweet vocal harmonies indeed.

The Paragons broke up in 1970 and John Holt jumped at the chance to pursue his solo career having hits almost almost immediately including the Bunny Lee produced “Stick By Me” (a wonderfully beautiful song about love and devotion). It was the biggest-selling Jamaican record of 1972.

The original 1973 release of “1000 Volts of Holt” is a sublime collection of an artist at the top of his game of course and because of the overwhelming positive reaction to that set 2 more sets were released to capitalize on his popularity. It included the hit “Help Me Make It Through The Night” that propelled him to a UK Top 10 hit. Following the pattern that “1000 Volts” started with “2000 Volts of Holt” and “3000 Volts of Holt” were released in 1976 and 1977 (the year of my birth I might add) respectively.

This is what the site says:
“Widely regarded as one of the greatest Reggae albums of all time, ‘1,000 Volts’ combined the rhythms of the Jamaican ghetto with sophisticated western arrangements and by so doing successfully transformed John Holt into a mainstream artist. Soon after its release, the singer’s rendering of Kris Kristofferson’s ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’ peaked at number six in the Pop listings, while a year and thousands of sales later, the LP finally made it into the British album charts, a top 10 position denied only by the unregulated nature of Reggae music sales in Britain.

In addition to containing the original 12 album tracks that comprised ‘1,000 Volts’, this 2 CD deluxe edition features many of their respective Jamaican mixes along with numerous previously unreleased recordings, many of which had been intended for a never issued follow-up collection.

Digitally re-mastered from the original Trojan tapes and featuring extensive liner notes, this seminal album never sounded or looked better, and is a truly essential purchase for any self-respecting fan of classic Reggae.”

DISC 1: 1,000 VOLTS… PLUS!
1. Never, Never, Never
2. Morning Of My Life
3. Stoned Out Of My Mind
4. Baby I’m A Want You
5. Help Me Make It Though The Night
6. Mr Bojangles
7. I’d Love You To Want Me
8. Killing Me Softly With Her Song
9. You Baby
10. Too Much Love
11. Girl From Ipanema
12. Which Way You Going Baby
Bonus tracks:
13. Morning Of My Life (Ja mix)
14. Stoned Out Of My Mind (Ja mix)
15. Baby I’m A Want You (Ja mix)
16. Help Me Make It Though The Night (Ja mix)
17. Mr Bojangles (Ja mix)
18. Too Much Love (ja. mix)
19. Girl From Ipanema (Ja. mix)
20. Which Way You Going Baby (Ja mix)

1. I Don’t Want To Be Lonely
2. It’s Just Because
3. My Eyes
4. Love And Affection (aka Sweet Vibrations)
5. Here Today (Gone Tomorrow)
6. If I Could Hear Her (aka Blue Dawn)
7. I Could Dance All Night
8. Maybe Some Day
9. I Played The Fool
10. Got My Head On Straight
11. Come Dance With Me
12. Good Morning Sun
13. Room Full Of Tears
14. Only You
15. Lonely Times
16. Sweet Malinda
17. Love So Right
18. Baby Don’t Get Hooked On Me
19. Just The Way You Are

For More Info on John Holt check out

I've been involved in the Los Angeles music scene since at least 1995 going to shows, promoting, spinning records and running labels. Ska and Early Reggae are my passion among other things of course.